Comparison: Death of Excellence

I don’t believe in dreams described by words like first, youngest, most. If Obama’s dream was to be the first black president of the US, then he got his dream 4years ago and he deserves no one’s respect. If however his dream was to contribute, it will continue even after 2016.

In Zimbabwe right now there is an unhealthy drive towards attribution as opposed to contribution. How many people do you know, who are sitting on urgently needed solutions because they want to do the fixing themselves? They are not concerned with contributing to a solution, they want the solution attributed to them. Some are praying that no one notices the broken window and fix it until they are able to do it themselves and be the hero! Selfish!

When you compare yourself to those who are seemingly better than you, it may destroy your own ambition. Be inspired by those ahead of you but never compare yourself to them, it may leave you feeling inadequate. You are unique and there is a unique space for you. If you are too busy coverting other people’s spaces, yours will remain unfilled. Achievement of a more excellent society is killed.

If your objective is to be better than those around you, you may sell yourself too short. I don’t care much if I’m the best in the world or not, I just want to be the best I can be. If I am not utilising my full potential then I am failing even though I may be better than everyone else. The word “better” smells of compromise and I have no respect for that.

I’m no perfectionist, those who know me, know that I always build the plane as I fly it. I am driven to be the best I can be, enhance my capacity and to improve the community around me to the best of my ability.

Are you the best that you can be at this time, under your current circumstances?

About Tinashe Inspired

Tinashe is a social entrepreneur who is passionate about community development through business and social investment. He is a critic of the static nature of the education systen in most parts of the world and seeks to bring about reformation in this area.
Aside | This entry was posted in Entrepreneurship, Leadership, Real Christianity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

