They Said Hardwork is Key to Success, They Lied

Success is not merely an accumulation of resources. Don’t get me wrong, wealth creation is important. Success is the progressive realisation of predetermined goals within a state of internal peace. Some of the rich and famous are not successful because they do not have peace.

I have a problem with the term hard work. If the work is “hard” then possibly there’s no peace to go with it. Not meaning we should do light tasks and be lazy- no! We need to work hard but quit hard work. I distinguish between hard work and working hard. Hard work gives the image of a neccessary evil, someone “has” to do! I don’t believe in have to’s. Working hard however, talks of effort you are willing to put in to make things work, it is really a matter of “want to.”

The chasm between “have to” and “want to” is called motivation. People read a motivational book and get charged up but after a week the batteries are flat again. The problem is that the mind is wired to resist force and pressure. If pushed, you push back even when its you who’s pushing yourself to do what you “have to.” Your brain will have non of that! When however you are doing what you love to do, towards results you identify with you won’t need to push yourself. It may be tiring and painful but you will work up charged up every morning.

How many of us devoted more time studying a subject we didn’t struggle much with at the expense of that other one that we always shelved until exam time although it “needed” our attention. One was working hard, the other, hard work.

I work hard, I am not hardworking. I have no business with hard work but my work. When it comes to my work, I work it really hard! I may not enjoy some of the tasks but because I love the work I don’t mind at all. I will share with you my favourate Mark Twain quote but for now, what is your work??

About Tinashe Inspired

Tinashe is a social entrepreneur who is passionate about community development through business and social investment. He is a critic of the static nature of the education systen in most parts of the world and seeks to bring about reformation in this area.
Aside | This entry was posted in Entrepeneurship and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

