Why I Didn’t Enjoy University

On the first day of university my fellow freshmen were excited and anxious, I wasn’t. Some were excited because being in university was an achievement, it wasn’t for me. Some were excited because they would be getting a university degree, I didn’t care. Some were excited because they could now breathe in freedom away from home, I had always breathed in freedom at home. I grew up without many rules but with a reliable value system (thank you mom and dad, i appreciate your style even now). Some were anxious because this was a big step towards their dreams, it was a diversion to mine. Some were anxious, triying to figure out what university was all about, I thought I knew all about it. All were excited and anxious, I wasn’t.

I didn’t say I hated being there on the first day, I said I was just not excited nor anxious. Three years before this however, I knew I didnt want to be in university. I knew I wanted to be an entrepreneur but three things kept me on the path towards university. Firstly, my dad was a super academic, he was liberal but I didnt want to stretch the limits. Secondly I was a straight A student and where I come from straight A students go to university and study medicine! The first two were not very important because I was then as I am now, a stubborn head. The third and most important reason is that I didnt know what steps to take to become an entrepreneur. Its saddening to note that this problem still persits in Zimbabwe and to varying extents around the world as well. This is why I do what I do. I am all for educational reform. We should increase alternatives to the educational path otherwise entrepreneur birds like me will not fly. All that said I started university that day. I was looking forward to it. Not excited, not anxious but looking forward to it.

READ NEXT POST…

@TNyahasha

About Tinashe Inspired

Tinashe is a social entrepreneur who is passionate about community development through business and social investment. He is a critic of the static nature of the education systen in most parts of the world and seeks to bring about reformation in this area.
Aside | This entry was posted in Education Reform, Entrepreneurship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

